These are not necessarily official rulings, but they're the ones I'm
going with for this game.
- Q. Can I affect another willing nobilis with a direct miracle?
A. Yes (and you don't have to spend penetration)
- Q. Do radio waves and so on cross chancel lines?
A. Not unless a miracle (or the imperator) makes them do so (power
of Phone Lines, anyone?)
- Q. If somebody else gets ahold of my focus, can they use it?
A. It depends on what's in the focus and whether the user is
mortal or a Power/Excrucian. Anyone can use gifts from the
focus. Aspect trait levels can be used by anyone; domain and realm
can also (but note these give power over the focus's
owner's domain/chancel, not the new holder's); spirit trait
levels can be used by Powers/Excrucians. In the case of aspect and
spirit trait levels, the new owner increases their trait by the
amount in the focus, but can't get any higher than the old owner's
trait (so if you have a 3 aspect and invest 2 levels in a focus,
and then hand it to an aspect 0 mortal, they now have aspect 2 and
you have aspect 1. if they then hand it to an aspect 2 nobilis,
that nobilis now has aspect 3 (would be 4, but it's capped at your
- Q. Speaking of focuses, how do they work?
A. Ok, let's see. A focus is any item that you put some of your
power into: this power can be anything you spend character points on,
traits, gifts, or extra miracle points. The benefit of creating
the focus is it becomes invested with some extra miracle points
when created; the drawback is only the person who has the focus
can use whatever is invested in it (including you, or somebody
else if they steal it). The game mechanic behind this is a focus
is considered a limitation,
with the number of miracle points gained being equal to one-third
of the number of character points of stuff invested in the focus.
For instance, if you put in two levels of aspect and a 1-point
gift, that's a total of 7 points invested, so the focus also has
a reservoir of 7/3 = 3 miracle points. Careful not to misplace it!
(And speaking of which, if the owner of a focus dies, the focus
generally loses all power in a week or so; if the focus is
destroyed, the owner generally gets their invested things
back, but no guarantees they won't end up somewhere .. interesting).
- Q. Do magic and technology from your chancel work in the outside
A. Yes, unless you get the chancel 1-point flaw "technology
doesn't work outside"
- Q. Why is technology cheaper than magic?
A. Two related reasons: because if you buy magic, you still get
current-earth-levels of technology (unless you choose that your
chancel doesn't have that), and because the advanced technology is
working from a baseline of earth-level technology, whereas the
magic is improving from a (non-zero but) much lower level.